Dare County has elected its first Republican Sheriff.  Doug Doughtie easily defeated incumbent Rodney Midgett 56/44.  Midgett carried Manteo, Wanchese, Nags Head and East Lake while Doughtie carried Duck, Southern Shores, Kitty Hawk, Kill Devil Hills,  Colington, Manns Harbor, Stumpy Point and all precincts south of the Bonner Bridge.

Dare County voters returned  Republican Jack Shea to the Board of County Commissioners.  Mr. Shea defeated his opponent (more…)


The candidates for Dare County Sheriff, incumbent Sheriff Rodney Midgett (D) and challenger Officer Doug Doughtie (R), recently responded via email to a series of questions posed by the Editor.  Their unedited responses to six questions are posted below. (more…)

The Colington Harbour Association is sponsoring a Meet the Candidates Night for the candidates for office of the Dare County Board of Commissioners and for the Office of Sheriff. The program will be held from 7:00 to 9:00 PM on Friday, October 8, 2010 at the Colington Volunteer Fire Department.

Candidates for the Board of Commissioners are Jack Shea (R, Incumbent) and Robin Mann (D). Candidates for the Office of Sheriff are Rodney Midgett (D) and Doug Doughtie (R). Candidates will make an opening statement, respond to written questions submitted by the audience, and by the candidates themselves, and make a closing statement. All statements and responses by the candidates will be timed.

All residents of the communities that border Colington Road are invited to attend. Should you have any questions related to this program, please contact Jerry Raveling (441-4226), the program chairman and moderator.

The candidates for Sheriff put their best foot forward on Sunday at the Dare County League of Women Voters Candidate Forum. Officer Doug Doughtie of the Duck Police Department and Sheriff Rodney Midgett told voters why they think they are the best person to run the Sheriff’s office. (more…)

The Dare County GOP hosted an event last night in Avon billed as Cookies and Coffee with Conservative Candidates.  It was well attended with about 4o people turning out to hear from the state and local candidates.  If you’re just tuning in to the local elections, now’s the time to start (more…)

Turnout: Turnout in Dare County was anemic:  900 votes cast from the County’s 26,000 registered voters for a turnout rate of 3.43%, the lowest in the State.

Local Results

Sheriff (Rep): Doug Doughtie beats Ryan White 77.75% to 22.25%.  Mr. White was unable to carry even his Precinct of Chicamacomico.  The entire island of Hatteras went for Doughtie by more than two to one, 85 votes to 41 votes.  Mr. Doughtie will face incumbent Rodney Midgett in November.

Register of Deeds (Dem): Incumbent Vanzolla  McMurran beat Craig Garriss 63% to 37% to keep her position.  There is no opposition in November.

School Board:  All members will keep their seats.  There was no opposition in any of the races.   Winners are Holton Bond, Margaret Lawler and Ben Cahoon

US Congressional Races

US Senate (Rep): Incumbent Richard Burr beats all of his opponents in a four way race.  He took 80% of the vote statewide and 79% of the vote in Dare County.  He’ll face Elaine Marshall (see below) in November

US Senate (Dem): Elaine Marshall beats her five opponents.  Statewide she garnered 36% of the vote and 53% of the vote in Dare County

US Congress (Rep): Walter Jones bests his two opponents in the three way Primary.  He won 77% of the vote statewide and 71% of the vote in Dare County.  Statewide, Cavanaugh picked up 15% of the vote, 20% in Dare County.  Craig Weber had 8% of the vote statewide and 9% of the vote in Dare County.


Court of Appeals: Incumbent Ann Calabria and Jane Gray will face off in November.  Calabria took 37% of the vote statewide to Gray’s 36%.  In Dare County, Calabria won 40% of the vote to Gray’s 38%.

Court of Appeals: Incumbent Rick Elmore and Steven Walker will go head to head in November.  Elmore won 29% of the vote statewide while Walker won 39%.  In Dare County, the percentages were Walker 39%, Elmore 28%.

Find all the local election results here.

Find statewide election results here.

Here we go again. The Democrats in Dare County are up to their old tricks again. We saw it with the Register of Deeds and we’re about to see it with the Sheriff’s office should Rodney Midgett get re-elected. Here’s the game: incumbent runs, incumbent retires, Democrat County Party Chiefs appoint a successor. Only one problem with this scenario, in this County, the Democrat Party Chiefs do not get to appoint a new Sheriff. That duty falls squarely on the shoulders of (more…)